41st ROSKRUGE OPEN CROSS-COUNTRY MEET

To: Cross-Country Coaches, Principals **Date:** Saturday, November 23, 2024

Site: Palo Verde High School, 1302 S Avenida Vega 85710

(On East 22nd, between Wilmot and Kolb) **Time:** 11:00 A.M. (walk-thru on your own)

General Instructions:

- 1. There will be four races: One for boys in sixth-grade and below. One for girls in sixth-grade and below. One for boys in eighth-grade and below. One for girls in eighth-grade and below. Sixth-graders may compete in either race, but may not compete in both races. Seventh- and eighth-graders may only compete in eighth-grade and below races.
- 2. Walk-thru is on your own. The eighth-grade and below girls race will begin at 11AM followed by the eighth-grade and below boys race. (At the starter's discretion, the races for 8th-grade and below runners may begin simultaneously.) The sixth-grade and below girls race will then follow, followed by the sixth-grade and below boys race. (The course for the sixth-graders and below is 1 mile. The course for the eighth-graders and below is 2 miles.)
- 3. Sixth-graders may compete in the 1 mile race, however, their places cannot figure in the team scoring. Only fifth-graders and below may make up the team score for this portion of the meet.
- 4. Place ribbons will be awarded to top 25 finishers in the sixth-grade and below divisions. Top ten runners will receive a trophy. Top 10 ribbons will be awarded in the eighth-grade and below divisions. Top runner will receive a trophy. ALL OTHER FINISHERS FROM ALL RACES will receive participation ribbons. 1st-Place teams in all divisions will receive a trophy. 2nd- and 3rd-place teams in the 5th-grade and under portions of the meet will also receive a trophy.
- 5. **No entry fee will be charged**. All runners must wear a tag with name, grade, and school. Name tags will be available free at Palo Verde. Please print neatly and provide **first and last** names and **school**.
- 6. Scoring rules:
 - A) Each race will be scored separately.
 - B) The top five finishers for each team will comprise that team's score.
 - C) A team must finish at least five runners in order to score.
 - D) A team may enter an unlimited number of runners.
 - E) A runner's actual finish will be the place figured in comprising the team score. ("Bumping" will not be used.)
 - F) No tie-breaking procedures will be used for team places.

Questions? Call Dale Lopez, Meet Director, (520) 829-2796.

2023 Roskruge Open Results: Elementary Girls: 1. Hughes (43); 2. Fruchthendler (97); 3. Miles (117); T4. Howell, DaVinci (135); 6. Borton (143); 7. Whitmore (233); T8. Banks, Drachman, Ford, Gale, Grijalva, Lineweaver, Roskruge (DNS). Elementary Boys: 1. Hughes (64); 2. Lineweaver (84); 3. Miles (109); 4. DaVinci (145); 5. Howell (163); 6. Roskruge (170); 7. Borton (172); T8. Banks, Drachman, Ford, Fruchthendler, Gale, Grijalva, Whitmore (DNS). Middle School Girls: 1. Gridley (22); T2. Roskruge, St. Cyril's (DNS). Middle School Boys: Dodge; Gridley (DNS).

Roskruge Open Cross-Country Meet Champions (Elementary Division)

Year	Boys	Girls	Site
2023	Hughes	Hughes	Palo Verde High
2022	Miles	Sewell	Palo Verde High
2021	Hughes	Hughes	Palo Verde High
2019	Khalsa	Khalsa	Cherry Field
2018	Sewell	Hughes	Pueblo High
2017	Borton	Fruchthendler	Pueblo High
2016	Borman	Miles	Pueblo High
2015	Borman	Borman	Pueblo High
2014	Borman	Erickson	Pueblo High
2013	Sewell	Sewell	Pueblo High
2012	Sewell	Hughes	Pueblo High
2011	Tully	Sewell	Pueblo High
2010	Sewell	Sewell	Pueblo High
2009	CRS	Brichta	Pueblo High
2008	Lynn-Urquides	Lyons	Pueblo High School
2007	Sewell	Brichta	Pueblo High School
2006	Booth-Fickett	Lynn-Urquides	Tucson High School
2005	Sewell	Booth-Fickett	Cherry Field
2004	Booth-Fickett	Booth-Fickett	Cherry Field
2003	Booth-Fickett	Lineweaver	Cherry Field
2002	Rose	Rose	Tucson High School
2001	Rose	Kellond	Tucson High School
2000	Kellond	Kellond	Tucson High School
1999	Lynn-Urquides	Dietz	Tucson High School
1998	Dietz	Gale	Tucson High School
1997	Dietz	Davis	Tucson High School
1996	Gale	Tully	Tucson High School
1995	Centennial	Tully	Tucson High School
1994	Lynn-Urquides	Gale	Tucson High School
1993	Roskruge	Centennial	Tucson High School
1992	Lynn-Urquides	Dietz	Tucson High School
1991	Centennial	Fort Lowell	Tucson High School
1990	Dietz	Richey	Tucson High School
1989	Tully	Richey	Tucson High School
1988	Dietz	Richey	Tucson High School
1987	Howell	Richey	Santa Rita Park
1986	Howell	Wright	Santa Rita Park
1985	Brichta	Howell, Wright (tie)	Cherry Field
1984	Keen	Blenman	Cherry Field
1983	Kellond	Keen	Tucson High School